A Re-Introduction (or introduction for some of you) To Five Dollar Gamer

Posted: February 3, 2015 in 5DG Plays

*suddenly awakens from a deep sleep* Hi, I’m Scott.

You can call me Scott.

You can call me Scott.

I’m the beautiful face behind Five Dollar Gamer. I wanted you guys to meet the guy behind the blog. I’ve got a lot of new likes on Facebook recently, so I thought before I get to what I do here, why not get to know me a bit?

I was born in Traverse City, Michigan on May 27, 1987.

Not as big as the big green star on the map makes it out to be.

Not as big as the big green star on the map makes it out to be.

When I was 2, we moved to Grand Rapids, Michigan (about 2 or 2-1/2 hours south, depending on how fast you drive). I grew up in and around the Grand Rapids, Michigan area most of my life. About a month after my 27th birthday, I moved to the Quad Cities area of Iowa and Illinois.

Pictured: How everyone in the Quad Cities gets around.

Pictured: How everyone in the Quad Cities gets around.

I took a hiatus from writing during this time to get my life back together again. It’s not FULLY there yet, but I’m in a better place now than I was. Thus, I felt comfortable starting Five Dollar Gamer up again. But! Grand Rapids is where Five Dollar Gamer started. Two days after my 25th birthday (May 29th, 2012, for those that don’t want to do the math) I was in one of my local gaming stores (where I would later work) and found a copy of Tinstar on the SNES. It was priced at $2.99. What caught my eye though was that this a Nintendo-published title. Games developed or published by Nintendo tend to be a bit more valuable. Curious why this one was so cheap, I picked it up. When talking to the employee there (a friend of mine, Ned. Shout out to Metalhead Ned, listen to him on 97.9 WGRD) I jokingly said I would study the game and publish my results. When he said he would actually read it, the seeds for Five Dollar Game were planted.

What a face! What a shirt! WHAT A RADIO STATION!

What a face! What a shirt! WHAT A RADIO STATION!

Now, if you’ve gone through the archives to read some past articles, you’ve seen that I’ve branched off into other types of gaming articles. But the main focus of Five Dollar Gamer has some requirements when I pick a game.

1.) It has to be $5 or less at the time of purchase.

a.) I’ve cheated a few times with this rule by buying and reviewing games on sale.

1.) VVVVVV on the 3DS eShop is reguarly $7.99, I bought it on sale for $4.99.

2.) It has to be something I have not played before. Every game in the main series of Five Dollar Gamer articles I had played for the first time right before composing the review.

3.) It can’t be obvious to me why a game is priced under $5.

a.) No sports games.

1.) Exceptions can be made for special one-off sports games (think Mutant League for example)

b.) No movie-based games.

1.) I made an exception for Surf Ninjas because it was a Game Gear exclusive.

Otherwise, everything else is fair game. I’ll look at modern day or retro games. If I found something on the Xbox One Marketplace for under $5, and it piqued my interest, I’ll review it.

For my other articles, I’m always open to suggestions. If you want me to write about a game, I take requests. In fact, the article that will be published after this one (which SHOULD be Hello Kitty Kruisers) was a suggestion (more like a dare) from a co-worker.

So, there it is. That’s me and this blog. If you have any questions or comments, go to my Facebook page, and send me a message or post on my wall.

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

