5DG Plugs Your Stuff #1: Bionic Commando/Game Show Garbage

Posted: February 9, 2014 in Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , , , ,

BionicCommando

So… this is something new I decided to do. I put it out on blast on my personal Facebook page that if any of my friends wanted to plug something on my blog, all they had to do was recommend me a game to play! It inspires me to write and they get some free advertisement! Win/win I’d say! These articles will not be a straight review style. The format will be a bit more lax and conversational (i.e. not ripped off from Cracked).

Well. It was win/win, until I actually started playing Bionic Commando. I lost. A lot. Bionic Commando was suggested by Robert Seidelman, who founded Game Show Garbage (link at end of article), showcasing the absolute worst in game show history. It’s a fun read for anyone who likes “worst of…” things and game shows. But back to Bionic Commando. I’ve only played this game briefly in the past, so it’s not one of the NES games I grew up on. I flat out stink at this game. Don’t get it twisted though. It’s a fine game. It’s got that Capcom quality. I’m sure with practice I could get better at it. I found the control scheme while unique, took a lot to get used to. The use of the grappling hook… thing… instead of jumping to reach higher places was my undoing. I can’t tell you how many times I died while dangling helplessly in front of enemy gunfire. I also fell to my doom into a pit of spikes many times because I couldn’t time my hookshots right.

With all that said, my difficulties with the game were no fault of the game itself. It’s not unfair in its difficulty. It’s just a classic NES challenge that takes some time to master. The guy who beat Super Mario Bros. in under 5 minutes didn’t do so his first time playing.

Thanks to Robert Seidelman of Game Show Garbage for recommending this game. Click the banner below to visit the site!

CLW83_GameShowGarbage600px

As always, thanks for reading!

fb

Click here to visit my AWESOME Facebook page, yo!

Comments
  1. […] request a game for me to play, and in turn I would plug some kind of content for them. I did this once before, and it turned out okay. But what Mike Nedwick had for me was sinister and I think he did it on […]

Leave a Reply

