Tecmo Super Bowl 2013- Week 5 (Baltimore Ravens @ Kansas City Chiefs)

Posted: October 9, 2012 in TSB 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Detroit Lions had a bye week this week, so I’ve decided to play as a different team this week! I was treated to 2 different viewing options in lieu of a Lions game this week. On CBS we had the Ravens visiting the Chiefs and over on FOX (where the Lions would normally be seen) we had the Green Bay Packers taking on the Indianapolis Colts. The Ravens/Chiefs game ended up being a defensive struggle, while the Packers/Colts game ended with a thrilling finish as the Colts engineered an 18-pt comeback to win 30-27. The comeback win was made even more special by the fact that their Head Coach, Chuck Pagano was diagnosed with leukemia, and thus, had to miss the game. I went with the Ravens/Chiefs game to play for this weeks TSB2013 game because I don’t think I could improve on the story that was the Colts/Packers game. Plus, the Chiefs are my secondary (eh, maybe tertiary) team behind the Lions (or… well… the Colts). With that said, I will be playing as the Chiefs for this one. Let’s get going!

Week 5: Baltimore Ravens @ Kansas City Chiefs

1st Quarter

  • The vaunted Ravens defense flexes its muscle on the first drive. Shutting down RB Jamaal Charles on the 1st two plays, and then forcing WR Steve Breaston to fumble. Ravens recover.
  • Chiefs LB Tamba Hali nearly blocks the field goal attempt, but the Ravens miss anyway.
  • Ravens DE Haloti Ngata drops QB Matt Cassel for the sack.
  • I foolishly go for it on 4th-and-20. Luckily Breaston catches the long bomb. I run out of bounds, lest he fumbles.
  • Chiefs TE Tony Moeaki dives to make the long catch and barely slides in for the TD! 7-0 Chiefs.
  • This is already more than the Chiefs scored against the Ravens on Sunday, so I guess I’m doing alright!
  • The Chiefs force a fumble and Tamba Hali comes up with the recovery! Chiefs ball!

2nd Quarter

  • Jamaal Charles punches it in from the 1-yard line for another TD! 14-0 Chiefs.
  • I’m getting lucky on these defensive play choices I think. After two straight Ravens runs for loss, Chiefs DE Tyson Jackson drops Ravens QB Joe Flacco for the sack. Ravens go 3-and-out.
  • On the 1st play of the following Chiefs drive, Cassel scrambles, but is eventually sacked.
  • Don’t know if I was playing Madden yesterday, but I decide to go for it on 4th down again, but it works out in my favor as Cassel dishes it to WR Dwayne Bowe for the TD! 21-0 Chiefs.

Interesting Halftime Stat(s): Boy, I thought 3 yards of offense allowed against the Vikings was miniscule. How about exactly 1 (one, uno, eins, une) yard of offense allowed by the Chiefs defense?

 

3rd Quarter

  • Gotta love accidental onside kicks. Love ‘em even more when they go my way. Sadly, this one did not.
  • Ravens nearly gain some actual offense, but a fumble shuts that down. They recover though.
  • I erase their gains with a drop of Ravens RB Ray Rice in the backfield.
  • Copy and paste the line above, then add “Ravens punt.”
  • As much as I’m making fun of the Ravens not moving the ball, I’m not doing so hot on the ground at all.
  • Grrr… At least I have a comfortable enough lead to where I don’t HAVE to go for it on 4th down. I GUESS I can punt it.
  • For the first time all game, the Ravens get a 1st down. OHHHHHH NOOOOOOO!
  • And it’s their only 1st down as they are forced to punt!
  • That was one of the silliest plays I’ve ever witnessed in Tecmo Super Bowl. Matt Cassel attempts a pass, targeting Jamaal Charles. It’s picked off by Haloti Ngata. Ngata FUMBLES THE BALL! Dwayne Bowe recovers it and runs it in for the Chiefs TD without any Ravens defender within 20 yards of him. 28-0 Chiefs.

4th Quarter

  • Aaaaaaaand the accidental onside kick goes my way!
  • Ravens LB Jameel McClain drops Cassel for an 11-yard sack.
  • I attempt a loooong field goal. Soon as I hit A, I said “Nope!” But it bounced off the crossbar and went in. It’s good! 31-0 Chiefs.
  • Ray Rice breaks open a long run for a Ravens TD. Too little, too late, my black and purple avian friends. 31-7 Chiefs.
  • I don’t care if I’m up 24 points late in the 4th quarter! I’m passin’ this f’n ball! And I pass it right to Fullback and Madden 12 cover star Peyton Hillis for the TD! 38-7 Chiefs.

Final Score: Kansas City 38, Baltimore 7

Stat of the Game: OK, so Charles and Rice both finished with 12 yards on the ground, but Rice’s 12 yards are even after that long (maybe 40 or 50 yards) TD run he ripped.

Compared to how the real life game turned out, this was the exact opposite. The Raven’s won that one 9-6. I scored over 6 times as many points, while allowing 2 fewer.

Well, we get back to Detroit next week as they take on the Philadelphia Eagles. I’ve been told by someone who has this same ROM that the Eagles are unstoppable in this game. Yikes.

Twitter and Facebook links are on the left sidebar!

Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. jowistinks says:

    You poor, poor soul. The Lions are your team?

    Haha, not that my Patriots have much to brag about after last year. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

