Tecmo Super Bowl 2013: Week 4 (Vikings @ Lions)

Posted: October 4, 2012 in TSB 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The disappointing season for the IRL (In Real Life) Lions continues. They lost an ugly game 20-13 to the Minnesota Vikings. The difference may only have been 7 points, but Minnesota looked like the better team by a mile. After 4 weeks the IRL Lions are 1-3 and the IRL Vikings are 3-1. Coming into this week’s Tecmo Super Bowl game, the TSB2013 Lions are 2-1 and the TSB2013 Vikings are 0-3. This is what most would have thought these teams would be sitting at at this point in real life. The IRL Vikings pulled a massive upset against the 49ers, with their only loss being a 3-point difference to the Indianapolis Colts. As far as Tecmo Super Bowl 2013 goes, the Vikings stink and the Lions have scored the 2nd most points in the league. Only Miami (what?!) has scored more. Enough with the chit-chat… LET’S GET READY TO TECMOOOOOOOOOOO!

Week 4: Minnesota Vikings @ Detroit Lions

1st Quarter

  • Before my opening drive I put Mikel Leshoure in at running back in favor of Kevin Smith. Leshoure went on to fumble it on the first play. Luckily it bounced out of bounds.
  • After a few 1st downs on the ground, Stafford airs it out to Megatron for the TD! 7-0 Lions.
  • An accidental onside kick works out in my favor as the Lions recover it. Yay, happy accidents!
  • A long pass to Titus Young sets up Leshoure to punch in a short 3-yard TD. 14-0 Lions
  • This is the 1st time the Vikings have been on offense this game and it’s 2 seconds to go in the 1st. RB Adrian Peterson is dropped for a 4-yard loss. Pity.

2nd Quarter

  • Vikings are forced to punt after going 3-and-out. Am I finally getting a game where I can breeze through unpressured?
  • Maybe not. I also go 3-and-out.
  • Another 3-and-out for the Vikings.
  • Mikel Leshoure says “NO!” to another 3-and-out and breaks a 40 or so yard run on the opening play of the drive.
  • “Hey Nate Burleson?” “Yes, Matthew Stafford?” “Can you catch this ball so we can blow this game open?” “Sure thing, Matt!” 21-0 Lions

Interesting Halftime Stat(s): I’m gonna have to go with Minnesota’s 3 total yards of offense. As much as I’ve had a problem containing running backs so far, it’s surprising to see I’ve held Adrian Peterson to 0 or less yards.

3rd Quarter

  • I tried an onside kick on purpose this time to open the 2nd half. I so recovered the ball. I recovered the hell out of it.
  • Stafford throws a TD pass to Megatron that would have hit his home planet of Cybertron it was thrown so hard. 28-0 Lions
  • Accidental onsides kick again. Different result. Vikings recover and start on the Lions 21.
  • So much for the shutout. QB Christian Ponder to WR Percy Harvin for the TD. 28-7 Lions.
  • I get sacked by a guy named Erin. 4th-and-22 forces me to punt.
  • Ponder gets sacked by a guy named Kyle. 4th-and-29 forces the Vikings to punt.

4th Quarter

  • After a couple long bombs to close out the 3rd quarter, Leshoure opens Q4 with a short TD run. 35-7 Lions.
  • The Vikings give it to RB Toby Gerhart and he nearly takes it all the way for a TD, but fumbles the ball! Lions recover!
  • I put in Jahvid Best to spread the love amongst my RBs. Best fumbles it on the next play and the Vikings bring it back to about where Gerhart had fumbled. Balls.
  • Ponder tosses it to WR Jerome Simpson 2 plays later. 35-14 Lions.
  • Vikings try the onsides. Nate Burleson recovers it and nearly brings it in for a Lions TD… if I hadn’t zigged when I should have zagged. D’oh!
  • Lions RB Keiland Williams scrambles for 10 or so yards to get the TD. Just to recap… Leshoure: Sure. Keiland Williams: The Kei to a TD. Jahvid Best? Not the best. 42-14 Lions.

Final Score:  42-14 Lions

Stat of the Game: Once again, Minnesota’s offense gets spotlighted here. 45 total yards. All passing. I’m guessing this particular game was played at night because “All Day” Adrian Peterson failed to show up.

Compared to the IRL game: Way better than the IRL game! Detroit lost an ugly one last Sunday. I won big.

The Lions have a bye week next week, but I’ll still be playing a game and writing about it. I’ll be posting a poll on my Facebook page asking you which Week 5 game I should play. Yay!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

